Different life

I have this fantasy (no, not that kind of fantasy) where the Mister and I sell everything we own, get passports for the family and head out on a year-long world tour. I’m not sure how that would work (especially the health insurance and medications portion of the trip) but I really, really want to do it.

A friend of mine from high school has spent the last year and a half traveling the world with her new husband on their boat. The photographs and stories are amazing. Every time I go to her blog (which I’m not linking but if you want the site, message me. It is public, I am not.) I feel a fierce need to give my children the experience of swimming with dolphins, walking the rim of a volcano, holding a koala, going on safari. Plus, I want to do stuff like hold a baby chimpanzee, see the Galapagos islands, munch on rotten shark, etc.

We spend most of our lives doing stuff out of obligation, not enjoyment and life is so short. Who says it has to be that way? I don’t want to do all my traveling in my 60’s, I want to zip line through a rainforest with my kids right stinking now.

 

Leave a Reply

